skip navigation
HOME News Team Schedule Tickets Fan Zone Shop Community Multimedia

Three Stealth Players Win President's Cup, Other Canadian Lacrosse News

09/05/2012, 3:16pm PDT
By Washington Stealth

Dean Hill, Jerome Thompson and Peter Jacobs won the 2012 President's Cup with the St. Regis Braves and several other Stealth players are still fighting for titles.

The St. Regis Braves after their 13-9 win in the President's Cup Final.

The President’s Cup is the Canadian Lacrosse Association’s Senior ‘B’ National Championship. This summer, the tournament took place in Spruce Grove, Alberta, pitting the top seven Senior ‘B’ teams against one another for the right to hoist the President’s Cup.

The tournament ended last Sunday with the St. Regis Braves winning all six of their games en route to the championship. Three players that will be with the Stealth at training camp in December, Dean Hill, Jerome Thompson and Peter Jacobs, were a part of that Braves squad and made major contributions along the way.

Hill, who joined the Stealth prior to the start of the 2012 season, got off to a hot start in the tournament, notching eight goals and four assists in the Braves’ 28-5 win over the Onandaga Redhawks. Hill finished the tournament seventh in scoring with 26 points (16g, 10a) in five games and was named to the All-Tournament team.

Recent Stealth free agent acquisition Jerome Thompson had a fantastic tournament for St. Regis. He finished atop the scoring leaders in the tournament, which featured numerous National Lacrosse League stars, with 39 points (15g, 24a) in seven games played. Thompson was named the tournament’s Most Valuable Player for his efforts.

Jacobs, who was also signed as a free agent by the Stealth this offseason, was also named to the All-Tournament team after posting 15 points (5g, 10a) in six games played. His top performance came in a game one win, when he posted a hat trick and two assists.

Congratulations to Hill, Thompson, Jacobs and the rest of the St. Regis Braves on their second straight President’s Cup title.

Other Canadian Lacrosse News

Stealth forward Mike Mallory was named the British Columbia Junior ‘A’ Lacrosse League Most Valuable Player after posting 74 points (35g, 39a) in 17 regular season games with the Delta Islanders. Mallory finished third in regular season scoring in the BCJALL. He went on to have a spectacular postseason as well, finishing second among the scoring leaders with 51 points (24g, 27a) in ten postseason contests.

Five Stealth players will be taking part in the Mann Cup Finals when the Western Lacrosse Association Champion Langley Thunder faces the Major Series Lacrosse Champion Peterborough Lakers in Peterborough, Ontario starting September 7. For Langley, Stealth forwards Lewis Ratcliff, Athan Iannucci, and Brett Hickey will look to earn the first Mann Cup title in team history. On the Peterborough side, Stealth Assistant Captain Kyle Sorensen and goaltender Kevin Croswell will look to shut down their Stealth teammates in the seven game series. Stay tuned to www.stealthlax.com for more details on this series as it progresses.

We’ll also have a breakdown of all the Stealth players and their summer lacrosse exploits following the conclusion of the summer season right here on www.stealthlax.com.

Recent News

Tag(s): HOME  Team  Stealth News  News  Roster  Kyle Sorensen  Lewis Ratcliff