skip navigation
HOME News Team Schedule Tickets Fan Zone Shop Community Multimedia

New West Advances to 2013 Minto Cup Finals

08/21/2013, 9:15am PDT
By Kyle Donen

Salmonbellies to take on Warriors in Finals

New Westminster, BC – The final series for the 2013 Minto Cup is now set as the host New Westminster Salmonbellies defeated the Coquitlam Adanacs 11-7 in Tuesday’s (August 20) semi final game.

The Salmonbellies got their revenge over the Adanacs and will now face the Whitby Warriors in a 5 game playoff series. The Salmonbellies lost the Provincial Championship to the Adanacs earlier this month but this time the home floor advantage provided an edge.

It was a tie game after 20 minutes with each team scoring 3 goals apiece. The Adanacs took a slight advantage in the second period out scoring the Salmonbellies 4-3 but in the third period the momentum returned to New Westminster.

The third began with the Adanacs up 7-6 but Eli McLaughlin of the Salmonbellies scored back-to-back goals to give his team the lead. Then Josh Byrne potted his second of the game to stretch the lead to two, with 8 minutes left in the game.

The Adanacs were desperate for some late game heroics but they couldn’t get one past Salmonbellies goalie Frank Scigliano, who stopped every shot in the third period. The Salmonbellies took advantage of the open net in the final minutes as the Adanacs gave up two goals while their goalie was pulled for the extra attacker.

Cole Shafer had a strong game for the Adanacs in a losing cause, scoring 2 goals and 2 assists, and was named MVP. For the Salmonbellies Josh Byrne took home MVP honours scoring 2 goals and 3 assists.

The Adanacs run at the 2013 Minto Cup has come to an end but there is still a chance for a British Columbia team to raise the Cup.  The Salmonbellies will have their work cut out for them in the finals, as the Whitby Warriors have yet to lose a game.

Tomorrow is a well-deserved rest day for the Salmonbellies and the Warriors, as their final series kicks off Thursday (August 22). Game 1 is set for 8pm, at Queen’s Park Arena.

Tickets to the Minto Cup final series can be purchased at Queen’s Park Arena and for more information visit http://www.bcjunioralacrosse.com/mintocup2013.cfm

Tag(s): HOME